bartending license Hawaii

In Hawaii, each county/ city has their own regulations in place that may or may not require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. There is no state jurisdiction.

It is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of city laws

Below we have compiled information concerning each of the 4 counties in Hawaii.

 

City and County of Honolulu Bartending License Requirements:

In the county of Honolulu, Server-Training is required for bartenders. Most employee of Liquor Establishments MUST obtain a Certificate of Registration, otherwise known as a “Liquor Card”.  A server, is not required to take the training.

Bartenders MUST successfully complete the Server-Training class and pass the examination administered by the Honolulu Liquor Commission before obtaining their Certificate of Registration (Liquor Card)

  • A liquor card expires every 4 years in the county of Honolulu. Thus, if it has been over 4 years since employees last attended, they must attend the Server-training class and pass the examination again to receive a re-newed Liquor Card.

Steps to receive Liquor Card:

  • Complete and bring the Certificate of Registration Form to the offices of the Honolulu Liquor Commission
    • Address: 711 Kapiolani Blvd # 600, Honolulu, HI 96813
    • You can find the directions to the office here
    • You can also find parking information here
  • Along with completed Certificate Registration form, applicants MUST bring the following items:
    • 1)  Valid, unexpired, Government-issued Photo ID, listing your name and date of birth (e.g. Driver’s License, State ID, US Passport, Military ID, DHS/USCIS I-688)
    • 2)  Original Social Security Card or a printed Wage and Tax Statement Form (W-2) that lists your Social Security number on the document (required only for applicants who are registering for the first time; an electronic copy is NOT acceptable). To request a new Social Security Card access the Social Security Website or call the Social Security Office at 1-800-772-1213.
    • 3)  $10.00 (cash only) processing fee per Liquor Card

Server Training Schedule:

  • Training classes are provided every Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, excluding holidays. You can find the 2016 Holiday schedule here
  • The training sessions are usually held from 8:30 am to 11:00am depending on the amount of students.
  • No late arrivals are allowed. If you arrive anytime after 8:30, you will need to come back on another day
  • It is recommended to arrive between 7:30am and 8:25am to register for that day’s training

Other additional information:

  • Seating is limited to 48 seats per class
  • No reservations or advanced sign-up is required. It is simply; First come, first served.
  • Classroom is chilly. It is recommended to bring a jacket or sweater for warmth.
  • If you have any other questions please refer to the Server-Training Information sheet (pdf) here
  • For preparation, The Honolulu Liquor Commission has provided a study guide (pdf)  for attendees to read and become familiar with prior to the examination

Minimum Age Required to Bartend in the county of Honolulu:

  • 18

For additional information please feel free to refer to the Honolulu Liquor Commission site for any further help

 

County of Hawaii Bartender License Requirements:

In the County of Hawaii, there aren’t any regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.

It is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.

Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In County of Hawaii

  • 18

Additional Information:

  • Bartenders/ Servers can acquire a “Liquor Card” by being appointed with a written request from a manager or appointed individual of the employer (licensee) to attend a class & exam on liquor laws. Classes are conducted in Kona or Hilo. You can call the Hilo office (808-961-8218) for specific times for classes and exam schedule or click this link here.

For more information, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.

 

County of Kauai Bartending License Requirements

In the county of Kauai, there aren’t any regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.

It is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.

Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Kauai:

  • 18

For more information, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.

 

County of Maui Bartending License Requirements

In the County of Maui, there aren’t any regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.

It is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.

Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Maui:

  • 21

For more information, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.


Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:

  • Driver’s License
  • Good Communication Skills
  • Be able to stand long periods of time
  • Knowledge of basic drink recipes

Bartending Jobs Board