In Georgia, there are no state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.
It is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.
This post was updated on August 21, 2023.
Bartending License Training Providers For Georgia
Although the state of Georgia does not have any bartending license requirements, it still may be in your best interest to receive proper bartending training.
Online courses will always provide certificates proving that you have a basic understanding of bartending. They’re great for the resume and will ultimately help you get employed.
A popular online course throughout the state of Georgia is hosted by Serving Alcohol. It’s online, cheap, and is much less time consuming than most other bartending training. You can check it out right here.
How much does a bartending license cost?
A bartending license in Georgia will cost around $10.
Again though, because a bartending license is not required in Georgia, the cost to you can be zero dollars to become a bartender if you so choose.
Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Georgia
The minimum age to serve alcohol as both a bartender and server in the state of Georgia is 18 years old. It is worth noting though that individual counties could have laws that differ from the state so it is always best to confirm with your local City Clerk’s office.
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Driver’s License
- Good Communication Skills
- Proper Non-Slip Bartending Shoes
- Knowledge of basic drink recipes
Wet/Dry Counties of Georgia:
The following Georgia counties have “dry” laws in place regarding the sale or consumption of alcohol:
|County||Retail sales prohibited||On-site consumption prohibited|
|White County (except for Helen city)||YES||YES|
For more information, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.