In Maine, there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.
Some states in the U.S. require bartenders to become certified. Maine’s serving alcohol laws, however, are fairly lenient.
Nevertheless, it’s important to keep in mind that some employers and bar owners may require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.
This post was updated on August 28, 2023.
State-Approved Training Programs:
The training programs found here (and in the table below) are certified by the Maine Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages. This just simply means that the state recognizes these courses as credible training providers.
|The Maine Course||Larry Risko||(207) 665-2427|
|Serve Safe||Becky Jacobson||(207) 623-2178|
|Rserving||Hannah Olsem||(605) 427 2905|
|B.A.S.I.C.||Laurence Sanborn||(207) 287-6754|
|BABLO||Tracy Willett||(207) 287-6753|
|360 Training||Shoaib Younus||888-360-TRNG|
|ABC Server Training||Sam Block||(800) 222-5777 Ext. 247|
Bartender Classes in Maine
While bartending classes are not required, it still may be in your best interest to enroll in a bartending school. Schools will likely cost you time and money, but they will teach you some useful skills along the way. Ultimately, they’re a great bartending resume booster.
These include skills such as:
- How to set up a bar
- Correct pours
- Drink knowledge
- State laws
- Alcohol awareness
- How to make a professional bartending resume
- Interview Preparation
If you’re on the fence about attending a bartending school in Maine, we suggest you check out our bartending school pros and cons breakdown. Lastly, feel free to fill out our form at the bottom of this page to get in contact with your closest bartending school!
Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Maine:
- 17 while under the supervision of someone 21 years or older
According to Title 28-A § 704, those holding a liquor license for the on-premises sale and consumption of alcohol may not hire a person under the age of 17.
The law states:
A licensee for the sale of liquor to be consumed on licensed premises may not employ a person under 17 years of age in the serving or selling of liquor on the premises where the liquor is sold.
Furthermore, the law states that if you are between 17 and 21 years old you must be supervised by someone 21 years or older:
An employee who is at least 17 years of age but less than 21 years of age may serve or sell liquor only in the presence of an employee who is at least 21 years of age and is in a supervisory capacity.
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Driver’s License or Passport
- Good Communication Skills
- Be able to stand long periods of time
- Knowledge of basic drink recipes
For more information, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.