In Mississippi there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.
It is important to keep in mind some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.
Bartending License Help's Training Recommendation:
If you want to receive on-hand, professional training in Mississippi... We suggest you get certified with Crescent School Gaming & Bartending.
We've heard from several sources that they are the best in the state. Crescent provides professionally instructed classes and even if you've never mixed a drink in your life, they can teach you everything you need to know to be a pro. Additionally, unlike others in the state, they offer students job placement assistance and the class is eligible for financial aid.
It all starts here.
Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Mississippi: 21
- For beer licensed premises, anyone who is legally employed may sell beer meaning ages 18-21. Those below the age of 18 (minors) are not allowed to come into possession of beer
- For ABC or alcohol licensed premises (most common), employment to persons under 21 is prohibited.
- If someone is at least 18 years of age, they may wait tables, take orders and deliver alcohol products to the table. This does NOT allow them to serve as a bartender or manager.
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Driver’s License or Passport
- Good Communication Skills
- Be able to stand long periods of time
- Knowledge of basic drink recipes
Bartending Qualifications in the state of Mississippi:
- To be employed in any capacity, you CANNOT have a felony conviction within the past 3 years or have been convicted and incarcerated within the past 12 months.
For more information, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.