In order to work as a bartender or one who serves alcohol in a restaurant, bar, club, or tavern in the state of Utah, you MUST receive training from a state-approved provider.
It is important to note that in the state of Utah there are three different kinds of training. Don’t worry though, we will go through each to make it easy to know exactly what you need.
- On-Premise Server Training: For sellers or servers of alcoholic beverages in restaurants, bars, banquets, public venues, event permits, etc.
- E.A.S.Y. (Off Premise Server Training): For store employees that sell sealed beer to go, such as at grocery stores, convenience stores, etc.
- Manager Training: For owners and employees who act as managers or in a supervisory capacity over the sale of alcohol.
Let’s get into the details…
This post was updated on September 7, 2023.
On-Premise Beverage Server Training
If you plan on being a server of alcohol either as a waiter or bartender in Utah, you must receive a bartending license. This license is required within 30 days of employment and needs to be renewed every 3 years.
Once you complete the on-premise server training with an approved provider, you will be able to print out a certificate of completion to use as temporary proof of training for your employer.
Meanwhile, your training provider will send your completion details to the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC) which will prepare your official license. Note: The DABC will not send you a license. You must login to the DABC portal to print your official license.
Our suggestion: To make life simple for you, we suggest taking the Learn2Serve Alcohol Sales Training course provided here.
Minimum Age To Sell or Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Utah:
- 21 years old
EASY (Off Premise Alcohol Sales) Training
EASY (Eliminate Alcohol Sales to Youth) training is required for any store employee that sells sealed beer or directly supervises the sale of sealed beer to go. This will mostly apply to those that work at grocery and convenience stores. If you are looking to be a bartender in Utah, you can skip this section.
This license is required prior to beginning employment and needs to be renewed every 5 years.
A complete list of approved EASY trainers can be found here.
Once you have been trained, you will receive a certificate from your trainer. Your trainer will then add your name and information to a state-run online database so your training can be confirmed by an employer, law enforcement, etc.
To check on your information or check on the verification of a clerk, click here.
Our suggestion: Take the Learn2Serve EASY Training course provided here.
Utah Alcohol Manager Training
To be employed as a manager or in a supervisory role of an establishment that serves alcohol, you will be required to receive manager training.
Unlike on-premise server training and EASY training, manager training is not done by outside providers. Instead, manager training is handled by the Utah Department of Beverage Services (DABS).
There are two different types of required training for managers:
- On-Premises Retail: For managers of employees who work at a bar or restaurant that sells and serves alcoholic beverages.
- Off-Premises Beer: For managers of employees who sell sealed beer such as at grocery or convenience stores.
All manager training is done online and both can be found here.
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Driver’s License or Passport
- Good Communication Skills
- Be able to stand long periods of time
- Knowledge of basic drink recipes
For more information, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.