Vermont law mandates that anyone involved in the sale or service of alcohol or tobacco must complete training and obtain certification from the Department of Liquor and Lottery’s Divions of Liquor Control (DLC). In other words, all bartenders in the state of Vermont are required to go through state-approved training and must obtain a certification.
Furthermore, according to state law, training must occur every two (2) years.
The good news? Multiple training options are available.
Below, we’ll make the process of getting certified a lot less confusing. We’ll also fill you in on all of the important information needed to jump-start your employment as a bartender or server in the state of Vermont. 🙂
This post was updated on August 27, 2023.
Vermont Server Training Process and Information:
For starters, training in the state is available in four (4) ways.
- Classroom seminars conducted by Vermont’s Division of Liquor Control (DLC)
- Online seminars created by the DLC
- Employer to employee In-house training conducted by a director, partner, owner, or manager of the establishment who has already attended a DLC first-class online or classroom seminar
- 3rd party vendor training via state-approved programs
Before we continue, please note that there is a difference between “First class” seminars and “Second class” seminars.
- First class seminars are for those who serve alcohol for a bar (bartenders), restaurant, club, hotel, manufacturer, catered event, or bookstore/art gallery.
- Second class seminars, on the other hand, are for those who sell alcohol or tobacco in a store.
To get certified in a classroom setting by means of attending a class in person, follow this link to check the schedule for seminar dates and locations.
- The seminar schedule is subject to change on a daily basis
- Late attendees will not be allowed inside the classroom once the seminar begins
- Seminar fee per person: $25.00
- Classroom seminar certifications are transferable between businesses within Vermont
To get certified by simply taking a course online and from the convenience of your own home, follow this link to enroll in an online course.
- Online course fee per person: $25.00
- Online seminar certifications are transferable between businesses within Vermont
Employer to Employee (In-house) Training
The DLC allows businesses to train their own employees under the following rules:
- Only certified In-House Trainers are permitted to deliver In-House training
- The In-House-Training-Kit must be used to train employees
- The kit includes relevant materials and the mandatory DLC video for selling or serving alcohol
- Note: At the time of writing, the department is in the process of updating this educational material for the first time since 2011.
**For aspiring bartenders or for those seeking certification, it is important to note that in-house certifications are not transferable between businesses within Vermont. That means, if you don’t think you’ll be working at the establishment for very long, or may eventually switch bartending or serving gigs rather quickly, we suggest not taking an in-house training certification. Both the online and classroom seminars, as well as the 3rd party vendor programs (see below) are transferrable and will be valid at establishments state-wide.
3rd Party Vendor Training
When we first said that there were multiple options on becoming certified to serve or sell alcohol in the state of Vermont, we weren’t kidding.
That’s because, say if you didn’t want to attend a classroom seminar or take the online seminar provided by the state… you could also take an online course through 3rd party vendors.
While costs may vary (depending on the course you select), the following 3rd party vendors are state-approved and qualify as a certification:
- Both Vermont Alcohol Server and Seller Awareness Programs (on and off premise trainings) are approved for working at a business in Vermont
- Both Vermont On Premises and Off Premises Responsible Serving of Alcohol Trainings are approved for working at a business in Vermont
- RTO; Ready Training Online
- Both Vermont Alcohol & Tobacco On Premise Server and Off Premise Seller Trainings are approved for working at a business in Vermont
- RTO; Ready Training Online Jiffy Mart (Branded)
- Same program content as RTO base course, certificate has Jiffy Mart Logos.
- E-TIPS Online
- E-Tips Vermont On Premise and Off Premise Trainings are approved for working at a business in Vermont
For more information or questions, you can call the DLC office at 1-800(832)-2339 or 1-802(828)-2339. You can also check out the Department of Liquor Control’s website.
Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Vermont:
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Driver’s License or Passport
- Good Communication Skills
- Be able to stand long periods of time
- Knowledge of basic drink recipes
For more information, contact your local City Clerk’s Office