Obtaining a bartending license in the state of Wyoming can sometimes be a confusing process. This is because each local jurisdiction/municipality has the authority to decide what, if any, training is required.
For example, the city of Cheyenne requires a bartending license/training program from the TIPS (Training for Intervention Procedures program) for those who serve alcoholic beverages.
It is important to keep in mind that some employers, counties, and cities will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state laws.
If your local municipality DOES require training, below are approved training programs by the Wyoming Liquor Division.
Wyoming State-Approved server training programs:
- TIPS *our recommendation
- Professional Server Certification Corp.
- Learn 2 Serve Alcohol Training Program
Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Wyoming:
- 18 years old to be a server in a restaurant
- 21 years old to work at a bar
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Driver’s License or Passport
- Good Communication Skills
- Be able to stand long periods of time
- Knowledge of basic drink recipes
For more information, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.