In North Carolina there aren’t any state regulations in place that requires a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.
It is important to keep in mind though that some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.
In North Carolina specifically, we have noticed that the majority of restaurant managers will require bartenders to become certified in one way or another.
Limitations to becoming a bartender:
- Cannot have a felony conviction in the last 3 years
- If you had a felony conviction more than 3 years ago, your citizenship must be restored
- A person cannot have been convicted of an alcoholic beverage or controlled substances offense within the preceding two years
- A person cannot serve or sell alcohol if he/she has had any permit for the sale or possession of alcoholic beverages revoked within the preceding three years
Bartending License Help's Training Recommendation:
If you want to receive on-hand, professional training in North Carolina... We suggest you get certified with RALEIGH'S BARTENDING SCHOOL. If you fill out the form above, they'll contact you directly.
We've heard from several sources that they are the best in NC state, which is why we're highligting it here. RBS provides professionally instructed classes for all skill-sets. Even if you've never mixed a drink in your life, these guys can teach you everything you need to know to be a pro... and they often help students land a job. Simply put, it's an excellent program inside a fun environment.
Click here to learn more.
Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In North Carolina:
- 18 to serve beer and wine
- 21 to serve liquor
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Driver’s License or Passport
- Good Communication Skills
- Be able to stand long periods of time
- Knowledge of basic drink recipes
North Carolina Wet/Dry County Information:
- Please click HERE, for a complete list of legal sales by county
For more information, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.