In South Dakota, there are no state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.
With that being said, in order to sell or serve alcohol between the ages of 18 and 21 years old without restrictions, according to state statutes you must “be certified by a nationally recognized alcohol management program.” Therefore, we highly suggest everyone looking to be employed as a bartender or server who is under the age of 21 to go ahead and take server training.
It is also important to keep in mind some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws. This is because businesses that certify their employees may be able to reduce their liquor liability insurance.
South Dakota Alcohol Training Programs
Although South Dakota does not require servers or sellers of alcoholic beverages to be certified, the state does approve programs for those that wish to further their education. The following training programs have been approved (in no particular order):
- TIPS (Training for Intervention Procedures)
- TAM (Techniques of Alcohol Management)
- Responsible Alcohol Server Training
- Ready Training Online
- Online Responsible Alcohol Training (skillsoft)
Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In South Dakota
In South Dakota, an individual may sell or serve alcohol at 18 – 20 years old as long as:
- the sale of alcoholic beverages constitutes less than 50% of the businesses revenue, OR
- if there is an employee who is at least 21 years old on the premises, OR
- if they have been certified by a nationally recognized alcohol management program.
At 21 years old, an individual may sell or serve alcohol in South Dakota without restriction.