In Kentucky, there are no state-wide regulations that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol. Although some states in the nation have this requirement, Kentucky’s serving alcohol laws are a little more lenient.
Important Note: Despite this state-wide law, it’s important to keep in mind that some employers or counties may STILL require bartenders to complete such courses.
You see, although there’s no state-wide law, counties in the state of Kentucky have the right to pose their own serving alcohol laws and regulations. Jump to the Kansas Bartender Training section for further details.
This post was updated on April 6, 2020.
Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Kentucky:
Kentucky Bartending Training
Due to local ordinances, many counties and cities in the state of Kentucky require server training. Simply put, you may or may not be required to take an alcohol training course. It all depends on which jurisdiction you are located in.
- The updated list of Mandated Server Training Communities is found HERE (pdf)
- In Kentucky, the Alcoholic Beverage Control mainly recommends its S.T.A.R. course for those who serve or sell alcohol. See below for more details.
- Local ordinances may carry different course/ training requirements, so be sure to double check.
- Visit the COUNTY or CITY reference guides to look-up/contact your county Alcoholic Beverage Control Administrator
S.T.A.R. – Server Training in Alcoholic Regulations
STAR course details:
- STAR is Kentucky specific regard alcohol laws
- The course is $41.46 per person
- Certification is valid for 3 years
- The class is approximately 2 hours long
- Classes & materials ARE available in Spanish
- Private classes ARE available for groups of 15 or more
Registrants of STAR will get an email reminder on class times. So make sure you provide the office with an accurate Email address.
STAR Registration Resources
- Online registration can be found HERE, along with the class calendar.
- Kentucky Dept of Alcoholic Beverage Control
- Attn: Education Branch
- 1003 Twilight Trail
- Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-8400
- Education Branch Contacts:
Qualifications of having a valid Kentucky Bartending License:
The state of Kentucky prohibits employees from having a license if:
- A conviction for a felony of any kind within the past 5 years
- Any drug misdemeanor described in KRS218A.050 through KRS218A.130 within the past 2 years.
- A conviction for any misdemeanor directly or indirectly attributable to the use of alcoholic beverages within the past 2 years.
- The state of Kentucky’s Wet/Dry map (pdf)
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Driver’s License or Passport
- Good Communication Skills
- Proper Non-slip Bartending Shoes
- Knowledge of basic drink recipes
For more Information, please contact your Local City Clerk office.