In Arkansas there are not any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.
It’s important to keep in mind that some employers will require bartenders to complete serving alcohol courses regardless of state or city laws.
That’s because although bartending training is not required in Arkansas, the Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Division does incentivize employers to require it as it limits their liability. This is known as the Responsible Permittee Program.
The Responsible Permittee Program
If your employer requires you to receive an approved Arkansas bartending certification, you will have to take the course within 30 days of employment.
Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In Arkansas:
- 19 years old to serve alcohol in a restaurant as long as you have a permit
- 21 years old to work at a bar
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Driver’s License or Passport
- Good Communication Skills
- Proper Non-Slip Bartender Shoes
- Knowledge of basic drink recipes
Additional Information Concerning Bartenders in Arkansas:
- Arkansas has very strict rules regarding the sale of alcohol on Sundays. It is worth checking the rules for your county.
- Nearly half of the counties in Arkansas are dry. This means they prohibit any sale of alcohol. Furthermore, some local jurisdictions in wet counties are also dry despite county regulations.
- You can find the states wet/dry map in their yearly “rulebook” here.
To find out more information and which counties allow the sale of alcohol, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.