In New Hampshire, there aren’t any state regulations in place that require a server or bartender to be licensed in order to sell alcohol.
It is important to keep in mind some employers will require bartenders to complete such courses regardless of state or city laws.
According to the New Hampshire Liquor Commission, “annual training is recommended.” Look below for state-recommended providers for further details.
This post was updated on August 26, 2023.
Minimum Age To Serve Alcoholic Beverages In New Hampshire:
The minimum age to bartend in New Hampshire, according to RSA 179:23 Employment; Employment of Minors; Felon Exception, is 18 years of age. As of 2023, the law states:
An on-premises licensee may employ any person not less than 18 years of age to serve or otherwise handle liquor and beverages while employed as a waiter, waitress, bartender, or hostess in a licensed premises
New Hampshire Bartending/ Server Training:
- For all information regarding training, you can visit New Hampshire Liquor Commission Division of Enforcement & Licensing site HERE.
- On the virtual training site, you’ll find:
- Upcoming events
- Access to courses (TEAM, G.E.T.S., & A.C.T.)
- Other educational material concerning the state’s liquor laws
Popular Free Courses:
- Grocer Education Training Seminar (G.E.T.S.)
- GETS was developed in 1985 to assist Off-Sale licensees and their employees to better understand and perform their job duties relevant to the sale of age-restricted products.
- The GETS course focuses on:
- Current NH Alcohol, Beverage, and Tobacco laws
- Administrative Rules
- How to handle attempts to purchase by underage persons and intoxicated individuals.
- Trends in fake identification
- Signs of intoxication and recommended store policies are also highlighted in this program.
- Participants will receive a certificate of completion with a score of 80% or higher on the exam
- Alcohol Consultant Training (A.C.T)
- The course will review special requirements necessary to conduct tastings at an educational event
- Total Education in Alcohol Management (T.E.A.M)
- Employers might require bartenders to be “TEAM” certified
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful:
- Driver’s License or Passport
- Good Communication Skills
- Be able to stand long periods of time
- Knowledge of basic drink recipes
- 2023 wet/dry towns in New Hampshire (pdf)
For more information, please contact your local City Clerk’s office.